2017 | The Year of Adventure

Adventure is a strange word. For most people, it conjures up an image of hiking mountains and travelling through treacherous lands. For some, it means lavish hotels with ski resorts, or perhaps a quaint Parisian terrace house. For me, it means my life.

I think we can all agree that 2016 was a weird one. Deaths of legends. Natural disasters and indescribably cruel attacks on innocent civilians. So it’s safe to say that most of us are very ready to move on to 2017. Whether that’s because this year was so tragic, or because the new year holds so much promise. 2017

Personally, 2017 will be the year I get back on track. I have had eighteen months of gap year after university – clearly a lot longer than anticipated. My writing career has come to a standstill and my editor isn’t best pleased! I struggle to be creative and often find myself hiding under my duvet watching Netflix instead of being creative.

But, 2017 is the year to get in gear (ooh that’s catchy!). I will be transferring jobs, moving back to Canterbury and into a proper house – with my closest and most beloved friend, Ash – and starting a Masters degree (Publishing MA – if you were wondering) in the autumn. So I need to kick myself out of bed, as it were, and get motivated. movingone

Moving back to Canterbury was always the goal, so it’s amazing to be going back to a city that helped make me who I am. My university, my home, my friends, my personal and professional education all happened there. And whilst I will never be that eighteen-year-old fresher again, it will be nice to see it through some older eyes. 

[ We’ve made a Pinterest page to keep cool ideas for our new home, so if you fancy a look, here’s the link. Myself and Ash are looking to upcycle and DIY a lot of cool things, and I’ve already started with some candle holders, etc. But if you have any ideas, we would love to hear about them in the comments! ]

What does 2017 have in store for you? Marriage? A new job? Getting yourself to the gym? Or maybe it’s a new hobby, or perhaps just trying to change one little thing? Let me know in the comments what your plans for 2017 are. 

Happy New Year, guys!

Mel. 

Keep track of my year in pictures at www.instagram.com/melissaholden94 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment